An official website of the United States government.

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Species Lists

Provides lists and information for species declared invasive, noxious, prohibited, or otherwise harmful or potentially harmful. Information is organized by geographical location, covering the U.S.

In the U.S., there are many Federal agencies and State agencies involved with regulating invasive species, and there is not an accepted standard for regulating all types of invasive species in all geographic areas.

We have included the following resources for information purposes only and should not be considered complete, or legally binding. Please note resources we include may not have current information based on the current regulations. For further information pertaining to actual regulations, please refer directly to the regulating agencies as each State has different statutes and administrative rules that may dictate its role in the management of invasive species. See Species Lists + Laws and Regulations to find related legal resources.

National Lists

Invasive Species Lists for the United States

Regional Lists

Invasive Species Lists by Region
select "Filter by Location" to filter further by specific Region

State Lists

Select a state, or choose from the list of states below the map, or view multistate lists.



Selected Resources

The section below contains highly relevant resources for this subject, organized by source.

  • 100 of the World's Worst Invasive Alien Species

    • IUCN. Species Survival Commission. Invasive Species Specialist Group.

    • The list of “100 of the World’s Worst Invasive Alien Species” is designed to enhance awareness of the fascinating complexity, and also the terrible consequences, of invasive alien species. Species were selected for the list according to two criteria: their serious impact on biological diversity and/or human activities, and their illustration of important issues surrounding biological invasion.

  • CAPS Guidelines

    • USDA. APHIS. Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey (CAPS).

    • The National CAPS Committee will revise the National Pest Surveillance Guidelines when annually reviewing the policy, strategy, and performance of the CAPS program. The NCC also will approve annually a “Priority Pest List.” This list will include the Commodity and Taxonomic Survey Pests, as well as Pests of Economic and Environmental Importance (OPEP Prioritized List). The Priority Pest List will be based on input by PPQ, the States, Center for Plant Health Science and Technology (CPHST), National Identification Services (NIS), and commodity organizations.

  • Early Detection & Distribution Mapping System (EDDMapS) - Invasive Species Status Report by State

  • Regulated Noxious Aquatic Weeds

    • National Plant Board.

    • Provides information on federally and state regulated plants. Refer to the link to the Excel spreadsheet of information compiled by industry for regulated noxious aquatic weeds (combined federal and state list). Please note that state regulations change frequently and may not reflect the most current information.

Federal Government
  • United States Register of Introduced and Invasive Species (US-RIIS)

    • Nov 4, 2022
    • DOI. United States Geological Survey.

    • Updated version 2.0, released November 4, 2022.

      Introduced (non-native) species that becomes established may eventually become invasive, so tracking introduced species provides a baseline for effective modeling of species trends and interactions, geospatially and temporally.

      The United States Register of Introduced and Invasive Species (US-RIIS) is comprised of three lists, one each for Alaska, Hawaii, and the conterminous United States. Each list includes introduced (non-native), established (reproducing) taxa that: are, or may become, invasive (harmful) in the locality; are not known to be harmful there; and/or have been used for biological control in the locality.

      To be included in the US-RIIS, a taxon must be non-native everywhere in the locality and established (reproducing) anywhere in the locality. Native pest species are not included. The US-RIIS builds on a previous dataset, A Comprehensive List of Non-Native Species Established in Three Major Regions of the U.S.: Version 3.0 (Simpson et al., 2020). An Open-File Report 2018-1156, 15 p., related to the predecessor of the US-RIIS:

      Note: GBIF-US was formerly hosted at The existing BISON website was taken down on December 17, 2021 and users are now redirected to Species observations for the United States and U.S. Territories via the new pilot implementation of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF-US) data portal.

      View related resource: United States Register of Introduced and Invasive Species (US-RISS) Story Map

  • APHIS Pests and Diseases

    • USDA. Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.

    • APHIS created the webpage to make it easier for its customers to find critical information on pests and diseases of concern. With this tool, members of the public will have the information they need to report pests and diseases and together we can protect America’s agriculture and natural resources. This page lists all pest and disease programs managed by APHISas part of its mission to protect American agriculture and natural resources. Users can search by type (plant, animal), keyword (avian, fruit fly, cotton), or by the specific pest or disease (coconut rhinoceros beetle, brucellosis). You can also scroll through the page, which lists the pests and diseases alphabetically and includes a corresponding image.

  • U.S. Regulated Plant Pest List

    • USDA. APHIS. Plant Protection and Quarantine.

    • APHIS regulates the following list of pests under the authority of the Plant Protection Act. It does not include any 'regulated non-quarantine pests' (pests which are present and may be widely distributed in the U.S.
      See also: Animal and Plant Diseases and Pests of Concern for related information

  • Federal Noxious Weed List [PDF, 262 KB]

    • USDA. APHIS. Plant Protection and Quarantine.

    • The APHIS Federal Noxious Weed Program is designed to prevent the introduction into the United States of nonindigenous invasive plants.
      See also: Noxious Weeds Program Homepage for more information.

  • Nonindigenous Aquatic Species (NAS) Database - Species Lists By State

    • DOI. USGS. Wetland and Aquatic Research Center.

    • Provides fact sheets, maps and collection information for aquatic vertebrates and invertebrates occurring outside of their native range.