An official website of the United States government

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites always use a .gov or .mil domain. Before sharing sensitive information online, make sure you’re on a .gov or .mil site by inspecting your browser’s address (or “location”) bar.

This site is also protected by an SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) certificate that’s been signed by the U.S. government. The https:// means all transmitted data is encrypted  — in other words, any information or browsing history that you provide is transmitted securely.

You are here

Species Profiles

Back to top

Our Species Profiles section provides general information about species considered to be invasive.

Species profiles include the scientific name, common name(s), synonym(s), and general information including where the species is native, when introduced to the U.S., means of introduction, and impact (with citations). Our profiles also include distribution/maps/survey status, Federal regulatory status, images, videos, spotlights, and selected highly relevant resources for the species (organized by source), and access to all species related resources included on our site.

See below to view Terrestrial (land-dwelling) or Aquatic (water-dwelling) invasive species profiles by type. Also see:

Terrestrial (land-dwelling) Invasive Species are non-native plants, animals and other organisms that evolved to live on the land rather than in aquatic (water) habitats. Terrestrial habitats are simply habitats that are primarily focused on land. From forests to prairies there are many different types of terrestrial habitats.

Invasive terrestrial species include plants, animals and other organisms. Terrestrial invasive plants include trees, shrubs, vines, grasses and herbaceous plants. Terrestrial invasive animals include insects, mammals, reptiles, arachnids, birds and nematodes. Other terrestrial invasive organisms include pathogens (disease causing organisms) such as molds, fungus, bacteria and viruses. (Source - Terrestrial (land-dwelling) invasive species)

Aquatic (water-dwelling) invasive species are non-native plants, animals, and other organisms that have evolved to live primarily in water (aquatic habitats) rather than on land (terrestrial habitats). Aquatic habitats are habitats that are covered with water all or part of every year. From oceans to bogs, many types of aquatic habitats exist.

Aquatic invasive plants include algae, floating plants, submersed plants, and emergent plants. Aquatic invasive animals include insects, fish, reptiles, mollusks, crustaceans, and amphibians. Other aquatic invasive organisms include pathogens (disease-causing organisms), such as molds, fungi, bacteria, and viruses. (Source - eXtension: Aquatic (Water-Dwelling) Invasive Species)