Random invasive species images that represents what NISIC does
USDA.gov NAL NISIC Sudden oak death Formosan subterranean termite Yellow star thistle Giant African snail Cactus moth Purple loosestrife
HomeAbout National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC)News and EventscouncilHelpContact Us
 Search the National Invasive Species Information Center
   
Search all USDA
Advanced Search
Search Tips
Browse by Geography
United States
International
Browse by Subject
Aquatic Species
Plants
Animals
Microbes
Economic Impacts
Laws and Regulations
Manager's Tool Kit
Resource Library
 
You are here: Home / Manager's Tool Kit / Expertise Databases / Taxonomic Experts for Insects, Mites, and Plant Pathogens
Manager's Tool Kit
  
Expertise Databases
Taxonomic Experts for Insects, Mites, and Plant Pathogens

Provides a list of taxonomic experts from USDA's Agricultural Research Service for for insects and plant pathogens.

Note: Supports the following objective from the National Invasive Species Management Plan (2008-2012; PDF | 254 KB):

Objective EDRR.2: Make Taxonomic Information More Readily Available to Governments and the Pubic.

• Implementation Task EDRR.2.1: Develop or enhance taxonomic expert lists to facilitate identification of terrestrial and aquatic organisms.

Performance Element EDRR.2.1.1: Identify taxonomic experts for terrestrial plants, invertebrates and vertebrates, plant and animal pathogens, and make their contact information available, as appropriate.

Systematic Entomology Laboratory (SEL)

Research
Scientists conduct research on the identification and classification of beetles, moths, flies, true bugs, aphids, termites, thrips, and mites that impact U.S. agriculture and security. These are crop pests, invasive species, species for biological control of noxious insects and weeds, and species of quarantine significance. Scientists use digital imaging, DNA sequencing, and electron microscopy among other techniques to produce results that impact upon federal, state, public, and private agencies.

Service

The Communications and Taxonomic Services Unit coordinates SEL's insect and mite identification service. Scientists identify more than 60,000 specimens each year that provide critical support to research projects in ecology, conservation biology, biological control, and integrated pest management. The USDA's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is the primary user of this service, but the user community is diverse and includes other ARS research laboratories, universities, and foreign governments.

Information
Scientists respond to requests for information relating to the taxonomy, biology, ecology, and distribution of insect and mite species. Regulatory agencies such as APHIS use this information to develop strategies for protecting the U.S. from invasive species and agricultural pests. SEL scientists produce databases and interactive identification tools on the SEL Web site to meet the information needs of the public and scientific community. Much information is gleaned from building, maintaining, and developing digital archives of the Smithsonian Institution's insect and mite collections. For more information, see People & Places at SEL.

Taxonomic Specialists

Brown, John
Lepidoptera: Tortricidae (leaf roller moths)
(202) 633-4541
john.brown@ars.usda.gov

Buffington, Matthew
Hymenoptera: Cynipodea (cynipoid wasps)
(202) 633-4552
matt.buffington@ars.usda.gov

Chamorro, Maria
Coleoptera: Buprestidae: Agrilini (metallic wood-boring beetles)
(202) 633-1020
lourdes.chamorro@ars.usda.gov

Favret, Colin
Aphidae (aphids)
(301) 504-5168
colin.favret@ars.usda.gov

Gates, Michael
Hymenoptera: Chalcidoidea (chalcid wasps)
(202) 633-4554
michael.gates@ars.usda.gov

Henry, Thomas
Hemiptera (true bugs)
(202) 633-4555
thomas.henry@ars.usda.gov

Konstantinov, Alexander
Coleoptera: Chrysomelidae (leaf beetles)
(202) 633-4557
alex.konstantinov@ars.usda.gov

Kula, Robert
Hymenoptera: Braconidae (braconid flies)
(202) 633-4558
robert.kula@ars.usda.gov

Lingafelter, Steven
Coleoptera: Cerambycidae (long-horned beetles)
(202) 633-4560
steve.lingafelter@ars.usda.gov

McKamey, Stuart
Cicadellidae (leafhoppers)
(202) 633-4562
stuart.mckamey@ars.usda.gov

Miller, Gary
Aphidae (aphids)
(301) 504-6896
gary.miller@ars.usda.gov

Nickle, David
Thysanoptera (thrips)
(301) 504-0719
david.nickle@ars.usda.gov

Norrbom, Allen
Diptera: Tephritidae (fruit flies)
(202) 633-4564
allen.norrbom@ars.usda.gov

Ochoa, Ronald
Acari (plant feeding mites)
(301) 504-7890
ron.ochoa@ars.usda.gov

Pogue, Michael
Lepidoptera: Noctuoidea (owlet moths)
(202) 633-4566
michael.pogue@ars.usda.gov

Prena, Jens
Coleoptera: Curculionidae & related families (weevils)
(202) 633-1019
Jens.Prena@ars.usda.gov

Scheffer, Sonja
Diptera: Agromyzidae (leaf miner flies) & Fergusoniidae (fergusoninid flies)
(301) 504-5317
sonja.scheffer@ars.usda.gov

Solis, M Alma
Lepidoptera: Pyraloidea (snout moths)
(202) 633-4573
alma.solis@ars.usda.gov
Research Leader

Vandenberg, Natalia
Coleoptera: Coccinellidae, primarily Coccinellini (predatory lady beetles)
(202) 633-4575
natalia.vandenberg@ars.usda.gov

White, Geoffrey
General Entomology
(301) 504-7041
geoffrey.white@ars.usda.gov

Woodley, Norman
Diptera: Tachinidae (tachinid flies) and Stratiomyidae (soldier flies)
(202) 633-4576
norman.woodley@ars.usda.gov

Back to Top

Systematic Mycology & Microbiology Laboratory (SMML)
The mission of the Systematic Mycology and Microbiology Laboratory is to increase the knowledge and application of the systematics of fungi essential to solving problems in sustainable and conventional agriculture. Research emphasis is on organisms important as pathogens that threaten the production of a safe and abundant food supply and biological control agents of insects and diseases in order to reduce the need for chemical inputs in agriculture. On-line information about plant-associated fungi is provided to users through Internet access to electronic databases. The U.S. National Fungus Collections and databases about fungi serve as unique reference resources developed for use by customers throughout the world. For more information, see About Us.

Taxonomic Specialists

Lisa Castlebury
Ustilaginales (smut and bunt fungi)
(301) 504-5270
lisa.castlebury@ars.usda.gov

Jo Anne Crouch
Uredinales (rust fungi)
(612) 626-2064
joanne.crouch@ars.usda.gov

Steve Rehner
Insect-associated fungi
(301) 504-5326
stephen.rehner@ars.usda.gov

Amy Rossman
Ascomycetes (canker-causing fungi)
(301) 504-5366
amy.rossman@ars.usda.gov

Gary Samuels
anthracnose fungi, Colletotrichum, Fusarium, biocontrol fungi especially Trichoderma
(301) 504-8279
gary.samuels@ars.usda.gov

Back to Top
Last Modified: Jun 25, 2014
 
Bookmark and Share
Manager's Tool Kit
    Control
    Early Detection and Rapid Response
    Education for Professionals
    Expertise Databases
      Taxonomic Experts for Insects, Mites, and Plant Pathogens
    Grants and Funding
    Monitoring
    Outreach Tools
    Prevention
    Research Projects
    Restoration
    Vectors and Pathways
Media Help
 To view PDF files you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer.

To view Flash files you must  have Macromedia Flash Player installed on your computer.

 NISIC Home | NAL Home | USDA | AgNIC | Agricultural Research Service | Web Policies and Important Links | Site Map
FOIA | Accessibility Statement| Privacy Policy | Non-Discrimination Statement | Information Quality | USA.gov | White House